I'm looking!

The road to the mine, Mosedale.

I did ask them to pose for the camera, but two of them were very shy.


Women's Prize for fiction
Winner announced tonight. Just a few words for those interested. It is a strong shortlist, any one of which could take the prize, but in my opinion there are three that stand out from the other three - The Mirror and the Light by Hilary Mantel, Girl, Woman, Other by Bernardine Evaristo, Hamnet by Maggie O'Farrell. Each of these is a brilliant book in its own way, although I have to take other people's opinions on the Mantel, which I have not read and don't intend reading. Out of the three, the one that should win is Hamnet, not just because I like it so much and it is such a beautiful book in every way, but several other reasons, such as the amount of publicity the other two have had already. I predict that Hamnet is the one they will choose, but I have been wrong on many occasions before! 

7.15pm
And she did it! The judges got it right. Buy it. Read it. It is a fantastic book. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.