One click at a time

By KeithKnight

March the Month 18,789 steps - Day 9

An early walk this morning before a full day's work (still waiting for the contract to cover it!), it was sunny to start with though it clouded over while I was out. The walk was a little shorter this time as I had to get back for work, so as my total steps for the month was just short of 150,000 I went out for a further walk this evening.

All pictures this month are being taken within the borough boundaries of Luton, I am aiming to not include anything man-made in the images (my definition being something that has been through a manufacturing process) to give a different view of the town. Although distant hills not in the borough may appear, the main subject will always be within the borough.

Stats for today's morning walk were 6.0 miles with a total climb of 2323 feet, with a total of 12,094 steps on the walk a further 3,808 this evening and the remainder of the 18,789 steps at home.

Not bad for someone with a dicky ticker, dodgy knees and dodgier prostate. The aim is to clock up in excess of 11,000 steps, 1 for every man who dies every year from Prostate Cancer in the UK. I was diagnosed with this cancer early in the lock down.

Prostate cancer is now the most commonly diagnosed cancer in the UK and each year more than 11,000 men die from the disease. The impact of the coronavirus crisis means that life-saving research is at risk. Men have never needed your support more to protect research into better tests and treatments to stop prostate cancer being a killer.

I know that due to Covid things are tough for many people out there (my own income is down by 50%), but if you can spare something please do support me. 

https://www.justgiving.com/fundraising/MarchtheMonth2020-KeithKnight

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.