Woodland snowdrop

At the art class this morning I made a tentative start to a painting of my third grandson so that he can join the other two up on my wall at home.

It has been another dry day and the dogs and i enjoyed a good brisk walk, although I still needed hat, scarf and gloves as the wind was icy. Noticing all the wonderful snowdrop shots on blip made me decide to check out some I planted in woodland where I walk almost daily. The snowdrops mark the spot where I buried the ashes of my last, much loved, golden retriever and beside her lie the remains of her predecessor above whom I planted daffodil bulbs which are now thriving and spreading. I was delighted to see the plucky shoots of the snowdrops emerging through the leaf litter, and indeed puncturing decaying leaves in their bid for light, as I know that sometimes they do not survive being uprooted and transplanted. Photographs usually highlight the wonderful pendulous flower but because these are still in the early stages of flowering I was fascinated to notice the white tips to the leaves and particularly, the green stripe on the bud. Hopefully one day these too will start to naturalise and spread and by the time my family come to leave my ashes here there will be a wonderful patch of spring colour to welcome me.

My first foray into the One Street project seems to have brought back some memories for some of you so I am encouraged and will certainly continue with it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.