The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Pinboard (Thursday 10th September 2020)

This is the third in my series of empty 7" picture record sleeves, this time looking at a major label's best selling artist, who therefore had a larger art budget than the indie labels from whose work I selected last month. The act in question is Elvis Costello and the Attractions, but although I had three or four others to choose from I have added an odd one out, for no special reason.

So much clearer in Large (Full Screen) view

L.
10.9.2020 (1817 hr)

Blip #3294 (#3044 + 250 archived blips taken 27.8.1960-18.3.2010)
Consecutive Blip #000
Blips/Extras In 2020 #146/267 + #058/100 Extras
Day #3822 (778 gaps from 26.3.2010)
LOTD #2439 (#2280 + 159 in archived blips)

Art series
Old Forge series
Pinboard series
Treasure Trove series
 
Taken with Pentax K-1 Mark II and Pentax HD P-D FA 28-105mm f/3.5-5.6ED DC WR lens

LozaRhythm Of The Day:
Marvin Gaye - Wherever I Lay My Hat (That's My Home) (recorded 11 September 1962, Hitsville, Detroit MI)
Paul Young made this song so much his own that few were aware that the song was written by Marvin Gaye and producer Norman Whitfield as early as 1962. It was the early days of Motown and its house style had yet to be fully developed and this has a surprisingly ska treatment from the brass section. The backing vocals are by Martha and the Vandellas, with whom Gaye had worked back when he was a drummer in the band they performed with. It came from his early album That Stubborn Kinda' Fella, and in 1969 was the obscure B-side for Too Busy Thinking About My Baby. I wonder where Paul Young found it and decided to transform it?
My trawl through my Motown collection has landed on Marvin Gaye this week. This is on the slightly inaccurately titled 18 Greatest Hits. I suppose  From Head To Toe (top right) would have been a more appropriate choice as it was written by Smokey Robinson and recorded for Motown by the Miracles.

One year ago:
Speckled Wood

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.