Life through my eyes

By Amanda_T

Walking on water

Last weekend I booked us tickets for Slimbridge (we are members but we still have to book), as the forecast for today was good.  It was a lovely day - shorts and t-shirt weather, and a really good chance to practice some of the learning from my Olympus sessions.  I used the pro-capture feature with tracking autofocus and it has done really well on the coot (main blip), dragonfly, swan, mallard, eider duck and geese.  Some of those (geese, swan and moorhen) were grab shots and the camera did really well to look on and stay focused while I was panning.  The dragonfly in flight took me about 500 shots to get that one!  I had a shutter speed of between 1/2,500 and 1/5,000 and only just got this one at 1/5,000 sec. I love the colours if flamingos in the morning light, and the dragonfly headshot was probably my best dragonfly macro yet, courtesy of knowing how to get the best from the lens.

It was a bit busier than we expected (and would have liked) and I wore my mask pretty much all of the time. Personally I think masks should be mandatory outside as well as inside.  I did get cross with Mr T as he was sat on a bench resting and another elderly lady from Cornwall came and sat next to him.  They were not 2m apart, so I asked him, why had we done what we done to keep him safe!  He said he didn't even think about it! It just goes to show that although cases are rising in the young they are not the only "villains", so if wearing masks outside was mandatory that would reduce that "I forgot" element.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.