A day of enjoying the company of my visitors, and cooking for them - a frittata/tortilla with salad for lunch with Mary, and pork steaks with roasted vegetables and some greens for my son and partner for dinner. 

It was Mary's first visit since she helped me move in March, and after a tour of the house I took her on my 4 mile "lockdown walk".  I noticed that the new estate was spreading to the other side of the public footpath - digger in photo - but it won't have too much effect on my local walking. After lunch she helped me to get all the remaining concrete blocks out of the ground and onto the drive, during which I noticed non-worm movement and discovered the newt in the photo. I put it under the rhubarb, I hope it'll be okay.

Not long after Mary left my family members arrived. We had dinner and then they mowed lawns front and back and trimmed the edges, then walked up the road to the shop for me.  ...Got to get them trained up ready for when I really, really do need them to help!

It should be a climbing day tomorrow but both Mary and I have dodgy backs and so are not going. The silver lining is that the electrician's wife phoned me (she can talk for England) and he's going to call round tomorrow afternoon to see what I want doing. He's already been to my house to reroute mains cables for my builder, so he has prior knowledge and also knows that I pay straight away. 

It's been a good day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.