A big one

I am a director for the development I live on and for the past few weeks I have been getting reports from residents of hornets coming into their houses.  At the weekend one landed on one of the kids and caused a lot of screaming.  Both hornet and child were fine but the hornet might have been a little traumatised.  We have not been able to locate a nest so there is not much we can do about them (I am secretly glad as I think they are quite cool but would not want one to harm anyone.) 

Today I saw one outside inthe meadow area and managed to get a few photos, I can confirm as reported they are big.  I did some reading and it seems they are generally less aggressive than wasps but will sting and bite to defend a nest. Like wasps they die off over the autumn and they can be disorientated by light. They feed mainly on live insects such as houseflies, blow flies, caterpillars and grasshoppers. We have loads of grasshoppers around here so it is no wonder they have moved in!  It was stunning to see and very happy doing its own thing and just wandering through the grass not bothering anyone.

In other things, a busy day at work. I am trying to get a few things finished up but the more I get done the more I seem to get sent. Typical! Anyway it is good to try and close things out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.