Buttermere Reflections

We had a super day at Buttermere, finding more photos suitable for mono conversion. When we arrived the lake was very calm so we took advantage of the lovely reflections as you can see. Later in the day when I was doing some mono processing I decided to duplicate and flip the image I'd taken, so not only is the upper half of the picture reflected in the lake, but the right half is "reflected" in the left, in a rather kaleidoscopic fashion.

We also explored the old bothy ("Gaston's Refugio") and I got one of my workshop colleagues to stand in the entrance to produce a rather surreal effect by overexposing part of the photo (first extra).

We also came across some more amazing fungi, including the enormous specimen of Dryard's Saddle (the larger "plates" of it are well over a foot wide). I'm told that it's edible and tastes delicious when cooked but this looked a bit old and unappetising. You could make a large pizza with it, without needing a dough base!

We finished off with another of John's superb critique sessions - an excellent end to our workshop. Home tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.