DIY Doggie

Yesterday Ann decided that I needed a proper chair for use with my laptop which I was accessing for ever increasing times (I blame Blipfoto). To date I'd been happy with a kitchen chair, my 'office' chair from our previous address being too large to go downstairs, so Tom uses it in his bedroom.

Remarkably for us we acted on this today, a record time for us between thought and action! So it was off to my love-to-hate superstore, Staples, to see what they had. And actually they had quite a good range, so we spent a happy time trying out different sized, and priced, chairs, spinning round and whizzing about on the castors.

Finally we decided on this one and had a nice young man carry it out to our car, one of the few advantages of being an older person.

When did furniture start being flat packed? Was it the fault of that famous Swedish superstore? So even something 'as simple' as an office chair comes in numerous pieces. I unpacked it and handed the whole thing over to Dylan, who had this vision of what it should look like. Ann and I then went out to Nero for coffee and left him to it.

Strangely he hadn't started by the time we came back, preferring to snuggle down on the sofa with a slipper, my slipper! So I set to and after a bit of cursing and re-doing, and re-reading the instructions, finally managed to get a working office chair assembled; no thanks Dylan.

Later I relaxed by cooking a paella for tea as Emma was coming over. It was delish served with sausages and omelette.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.