Murphy's Lore

By stevemurphy

Strange Day (Giorni Dispari)

It was one of those strange days today - Fiona's auntie died about 3 weeks ago and it was her funeral today. I don't like funerals - or actually I like catching up with family and friends but the process of the funeral will never be missed by me if I never go to another one again. Having said that - it was a lovely service - a piper led the hearse along the road to the crematorium (Christine was a proud Scot) - someone was trying to talk to me as the piper came closer - I just ignored them and they soon got the hint to pay some respect to the piper and the approaching hearse.

Giorni Dispari (translates Italian to English as Strange Days) is reference to a piece of music I heard about 7 or 8 years ago by Ludovico Einaudi - please if you ever get a chance to listen to it - do so - it is the most beautiful track - one which led me to ring Classic FM and track it down because when Simon Bates said "and that was Giorni Dispari by Ludovico Einaudi" it was gibberish to me and I think unless you know what he's going to say it would be for most people. So I rang Classic FM and the very helpful lady on reception went through the previous 10 minutes worth of playlist and we came to the conclusion it was Ludo - she very helpfully spelt out his name and the track name and told me the album was called "Echoes". I spent the next few days in and out of music shops looking for the CD - I was away from home for a week working so amazon was out of the question - I HAD to have that CD - NOW !!

Today's blip is inside the Norman King pub in Dunstable that burnt down in 2011 around the same time as the London riots were happening - I went for a swim to kill some time this morning (100 lengths today) and I'd been meaning to take some photos of the pub for a while - blipfoto is getting me to take the shots I've been meaning to take.

On days gone by - I have stood at that bar and had a few beers. No idea what the future holds for the Norman King - if anything interesting happens with it I'll journal it here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.