Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

The last of the geraniums

Today is our 27th wedding anniversary - unfortunately also a date commemorated in the USA for tragic reasons. But for us it's a happy occasion, 27 years of a happy marriage with never an argument between us - if you believe that then you also will believe that we will be Covid free by Christmas with a successful Brexit deal in Boris' back pocket, haha!

It was a busy day - a walk with Xena this morning in the woods. P the dog walker who usually takes her out on a Friday messaged me to say he has had an awful time with Covid but is now finally symptom free other than a total lack of taste and smell, so he will see Xena next week.

Then it was a mad dash to the hairdresser. It is good to see how well they do the Covid safety measures - I have noticed some restaurants and other places getting a bit lax about it these days, but at the hairdresser they still take your temperature on arrival, face masks have to be on the entire time, a one way system in the salon, doors and windows wide open to ensure good ventilation, and I had to complete a track and trace form. Apparently business is quiet as many customers have not come back - those who colour their hair have decided to let it grow out, those who had a wash and blowdry as they were going out are no longer going out anywhere special so no longer need to do that. There was only one other customer in the salon and then she left so for the rest of my appointment it was only my hairdresser and me in the salon. It used to be such a busy salon, one struggled to get an appointment there, so it is sad now to see the effect of the virus on this business.

From the hairdresser I went grocery shopping - by now it was way past lunch time so I got a smoothie from the vegan cafe for lunch and managed to quickly do my shopping so I could get home to get on with other things I had to do. 

Tonight Gavin and I are going out to dinner to celebrate our anniversary which will be lovely.

The geraniums are still looking okay in our garden, but it won't be long before we need cut them all back again so I took some photos of them in the afternoon sun, which finally came out after a cloudy morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.