Day 1 - And so we started...

...the Betty's veranda rebuild project. Our "expert" and old friend Börje couldn't come today, and it was extremely windy and so not the best day for demolition. We decided to do some extra preparation. I dug out all around the two sides nearest the camera, to see if we could expand the veranda a little and to make it easy for Börje to make good decisions. I also removed the plastic making a wall around the veranda. Jan (just visible here) dug out the area from the veranda to the far corner of the house. Both jobs had their heroic elements and we finally finished feeling very satisfied with ourselves.
As I'd been working here my phone periodically reminded me it was time to do some "stretch and folds" on my sourdough and I'd retreat to the kitchen and do just that. So when we finished work outside I moved inside for the final shaping of my loaves. The dough, using my wonderful new flour, was far too moist and basically flattened itself out, no matter what I did. By now I was pretty tired so I tipped the dough into two bread tins and left it to rise a bit, and as it started to flop out of the tins I baked it. The results looked fairly dodgy (extra) but the bread actually tasted wonderful and had that slightly crumpet-like crumb.  I've adjusted the recipe and will use less water to create a lower hydration dough next time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.