SILLY SATURDAY - WHO'S A FUNGI?

Hello Lovely Blippers,

It’s JH Ted again - and I have been out having an adventure this morning.  I can honestly say that you never know what will happen if you go out with Mrs. HCB!

When I heard her telling Mr. HCB that she was going out for a walk, despite her aching legs and back from all the work she did yesterday, I quickly jumped into the bag she took with her.  I heard her mention conkers and I thought she was going to pick some up, so I was looking forward to that, but something distracted her on the way.  

Just as you go into her field, there is a tree that has been chopped down and on the trunk that was left, which is about 3 feet high, I could see some fungi - and it was quite large.  I never gave it a second thought though, because it was quite a way in, amongst lots of other trees and all around were stinging nettles and brambles, so I decided that it would be too risky to clamber amongst those. However, the intrepid Mrs. HCB wasn’t put off that easily and before I knew it she was in there, trampling down the nettles, pushing her way through the brambles and looking at the fungi.  

As she was otherwise engaged, I took my chance, quickly jumped out of the bag and had a wander round while Mrs. HCB was debating the best angle for a shot.  I hoped that the stuff growing on the side was strong enough for me to sit on and I even found a loose piece of the fungus on top of the tree trunk so decided to wear it as a hat, which I think looks rather fetching.  Now that really is silly and I think Admirer would be pleased that I used my initiative and helped Mrs. HCB with her Silly Saturday shot.  However, I'm not too sure what anyone would have thought if they saw us, but there weren't any other people around, thank goodness.

I’m not sure what this particular fungus is but I had a quick peek on the internet when we got home and think this is what is known as “Saprophytic fungi” because apparently that one lives on dead organic matter.  It could even be “Ganoderma adspersum” as it felt very hard, and was concentrically ringed on top with a red-brown cracked crust but perhaps someone else who has more knowledge about fungi will know.  

I’m afraid therefore, dear Blippers, that no conkers were found this morning - in fact, Mrs. HCB didn’t even go near the horse chestnut trees on the way home - but I think by the look on her face, she was feeling her age anxious to get home - I think Mr. HCB will be telling her to put her feet up this afternoon and have a rest.  Sometimes, you can’t stop these oldies from behaving like teenagers - and that is even sillier but I'm sure you all know what Mrs. HCB is like by now!

Enjoy the rest of your weekend and don’t forget “HANDS, FACE, SPACE”.

Best wishes to you all,

JH Ted xx 

P.S.  Mrs. HCB has asked me to tell you all how grateful she is that you put her Emperor Dragonfly at the very top of the Popular page - what a great bunch you are!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.