Personalised pancakes

So today's Shrove Tuesday.

"Pancakes? O maybe one or two," said the three gannets in my kitchen. "Not that hungry, really".

So first of all I made 25-30 traditional pancakes - two whole two-egg batches - and they went straight down the red hatch without touching the sides. Three red hatches. With lemon and sugar, with maple syrup, with home-made blackcurrant jam and cream.

I didn't have one. I've a feverish cold. I should be in bed, not catering for gannets

"Still hungry?"

"Maybe just a little".

So then we went onto griddle cakes - or Scotch pancakes.

Our version is small, round, fat, sugary, very brown with cinnamon - and with raisins in.

After 30, maybe 40, of these we started personalising them. E for Em, B for Ben and R for Robert.

They ate the lot.

That was 9 eggs, three pints of milk, nearly 2 lbs of flour and a lot of toppings.

Mardi extrêmement gras

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.