Sweet Serendipity

My husband and I took our chairs along on a hike in our local gameland. Not far off the road, we found a large green field lined by trees, with wildflowers growing everywhere in it. So we set up our chairs and sat down to relax in the near corner, where a pleasant breeze had sprung up to keep us cool and refreshed.

Not long later, a huge pick-up truck arrived on the nearby road. The engine turned off. Two men got out and started talking loudly. I don't know about you, but when I'm in the woods, I don't prefer to hear the sounds of people.

So we tried to wait them out, but we finally got tired of listening to them, and so we took our chairs to the far corner of the field, well away from the chatty outdoorsmen. (Say, wouldn't The Chatty Outdoorsmen make a great name for a rock band? No? Well, OK then!)

And before I could even set my chair down, THERE was this butterfly! It was a monarch, and looked like a female to me (no black dots on the hind wings, and somewhat wider dark stripes in between the orange). And boy did it put on a show!

I grabbed my camera and easily took two or three dozen shots, as the pretty butterfly posed and posed and posed this way and that for me. Then I sat in my chair, but alas there was no lovely breeze in that corner of the field.

Finally, the two chatty fellows got back in their truck and left, and we returned to our original breezy spot on the hill. As I took one last backward glance at "my" butterfly, I noted to my husband that if those men hadn't shown up, we would have never ended up in that corner of the field to see the beautiful butterfly!

So here's a shout-out to sweet serendipity, in which I ended up directly in the path of a fabulous monarch butterfly show!

The soundtrack song is this one: Lee DeWyze, with Sweet Serendipity.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.