Monochrome Trees

One of John Gravett's aims during this week at the Black-and-White workshop was to get us to "think in monochrome" when choosing a subject which would work well when converted to black-and-white. So I tried to do this when out for my bliphunt walk this morning. I liked the way the sun was shining through the leaves of this sycamore, and there seemed to be lots of nice textures in the trunk.

As I'm trying to practise with the ideas he taught us (one of which is to consider using different colour filter settings for different parts of the photo), I ended up using a yellow filter in Photoshop for the grass, but for the leaves I used an pseudo-infrared filter as I liked the way it made the leaves glow a little more.

It looks best large, against a black background.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.