Whitby

We decided to go to Whitby for our last trip of the holiday. It is a lovely drive over the moors which were looking stunning with the purple heather in full bloom. On the way we stopped at Goathland which is where the TV series Heartbeat was filmed. The last time I was there was when the show was still at the height of its popularity so I was very surprised at how busy it still is. I certainly felt like I had stepped back in time when I bought a coffee in 'Scripps garage' and they wouldn't take card payment for under £5!!
Whitby was extremely busy but we didn't have to queue too long to get into one of the cafes. For some reason my husband decided to order the giant haddock! He did well with the fish but not the giant portion of chips. To work off some of the calories we then walked up to the Abbey and along the harbour wall.
I finally finished the jigsaw just after midnight. I felt a great sense of achievement as this was the first time I have ever attempted to do a 1000 piece jigsaw on my own. My mum has always enjoyed doing jigsaws and on family holidays there was always one on the go. I didn't have the patience to do more than a few pieces and was much happier with my nose in a book. I have heard lots of people talking about doing jigsaws recently and that was why I decided to attempt this one. I will try another one but will choose one with more colour in it this time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.