airedaleknitter

By airedaleknitter

Rhubarb, rhubarb , rhubarb

My rhubarb plant is coming back to life after the winter. I am ashamed to say that I don't know what variety this is, as a neighbour gave me the crown from her garden when we first moved here.

I am told I can bore people for hours on Rhubarb, Rheum rhaponticum, my nearest and dearest dread the word being mentioned in front of me. Hoping for another bumper crop, but as there is so much water about I think rot could be a problem this year. I am collecting the jam jars ready for the jam, and there will be plenty of rhubarb muffins, crumbles and spiced rhubarb ( fabulous with cold meat). I am also hoping to get to the Rhubarb festival this year, see festival website

Many years ago as part of my degree in Horticulture I studied the effect of hormones on Rhubarb for breaking dormancy when global warming stopped it from getting cold enough for it to happen naturally. Global warming is now known as climate change and this part of Yorkshire doesn't seem any warmer but certainly wetter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.