The Wofflings Of A Doris

By DorisOrDwagon

Still beauty in decay

The day started with me booking a hotel in Vienna (nearly got stung for an £18+ credit card charge (robbing wotsits!), luckily I put a detail in wrong and Lastminute.com rejected the transaction! I found the same hotel on Expedia and booked via them instead. Wehey, that means we're definitely going - even though I can't book the train until about May/June. Al came home tonight with two more Vienna books which I'm hoping won't be engulfed in my 'to read' pile!

About to start work when I got a text from Togger B "waxwings still there and dipper seen on the river" - start work or go for a reccy.... decisions, decisions. Waxwings and dipper won, although the waxies were more intent on feeding their faces on the berry bush just out of view but I had a few moments with them in the tall tree, took a few photos with them flying from the tree, but with them still being high up, there were no better views of them than Saturday, just slightly better light. Didn't see the dipper so headed home to start work.

I could probably have used another waxwing image but last night I found a waterless vase of saggy flowers I bought on 3rd Feb in my 'studio', I'd totally forgotten about. The pink rose had become dark and crispy, but still very beautiful, so I put it aside in my homemade lightbox to photograph today so that's what I decided to Blip.

Good night at Camera Club - evening was Part 1 of an interesting talk about the art of photography by a fellow club member. Good turnout and potentially more new members!


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.