Dribs and Drabs of 2014

By RodgerEvans01

You have to crack a few...

OK, it's official - I'm obsessed with finding images for the local photo club assignment for February - patterns. They're everywhere!! But how to best represent them in a way that's not run-of-the-mill. The challenge of the art of photography keeps my mind, and SD cards, very busy...

So, back to the Biology Museum. As I walked about I found an open wooden box, and in that box dozens of eggs of various sizes, colours, and yes - PATTERNS!!!! In the box was a yellowed letter from the original owner. Seems it was bequeathed to Acadia in the 1970's.

Many are broken, but many are intact. I took the intact eggs and placed them randomly at one end of the box. I have no idea of the species responsible for these beauties (the solid blue are likely Robins), but their patterns are amazing!!!

Side note - anyone remember painting eggs as a kid? Two pin holes in either end and blow all the juicy parts out. Well, this is how these eggs were preserved after collection. However, the collector left nature's paints stand on their own.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.