Our Journey is a process

By journeysprocess

A brief respite, the fire and smoke!

We woke up this morning to thick smoke in the valley.  We had left the windows open downstairs most of the night and it smelled like someone had started a campfire in our living room.  We closed up again and kept it that way for most of the day.  Then just before sunset there seemed to be a brief lift and I tried to take a quick walk.  I captured this shot before the smoke billowed back into the valley again and I was forced to abandon my walk and go home.  

Our air quality isn't as bad as some in Oregon, though.  And truthfully, we are very thankful.  While we have had lots of smoke this year, we haven't had too many major fires near us.  I remember a few years ago when the area just a few blocks from us was on fire and spreading rapidly due to high winds.  Miraculously, the fire shift direction and was in a much easier topography to contain and put out.  My prayer is for  early winter conditions - much cooler weather with a lot more moisture.  

I hope you all had a wonderful weekend!  And I hope that your upcoming week will be all that you want it to be.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.