Blippish Columbia

By OllieG90

Millenium Bridge

Today has been a better day.
Today has also been a field day, of a sort. I had a geography field trip all the way to Lancaster today. The course I'm taking is called 'Urban Infrastructure in a changing world' so today we were looking at infrastructure within Lancaster and its change over the years. It was quite interesting to cast a fresh eye over Lancaster city centre and its surroundings and discover what used to be there and the ways in which Infrastructure is found or hidden all around us (did you know, for example that in many Shell service stations there are hidden mobile phone masts - making the 'no phone' rule fairly hypocritical.)

In the afternoon we went over to Halton, a short drive away, to visit the Eco-Collective housing project which is underway there. It was quite interesting to visit, all of the houses are incredibly environmentally friendly and it seems to be a very safe community. The residents all contribute to various tasks including cooking shared meals every so often. they aim to have 4 cooked meals a week available in the shared community centre. Laundry facilities are shared too and they have 'community cars' for use although most cycle the 3 miles into town on the nearby cycle path. I dont think I could live there personally though. Whilst the eco side appeals to me, the community share is something I think would annoy me after a while (and the cost of the individual units are ridiculously expensive in my opinion)

This evening has been a lot of fun. PhotoSoc for a while but I ran out of charge on my camera so I didnt get many shots. When I got back Toni and I set about making all manner of pancakes. My favourite was our Creamy Chicken, Mushroom and Spinach effort, although the Tomato, Ham, Cheese and Chili was pretty good too.

Tomorrow I will be productive!

Todays blip is Millenium Bridge in Lancaster, a pedestrian bridge which connects Lancaster centre to Torrisholme and Skerton on the other side of the River Lune

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.