Finished The Day With A Selection In Her Bag

Eldest and J headed off back to Manchester first thing. He's starting his final year at university, not sure when we will see him next as no doubt lockdown will have something to say about it.

I spent the day with my friend K at Scampston Walled Garden, near Malton for a plant fair and to visit the Gardens. The fair was pretty good, a bit light on sellers, but there were still enough to relieve me of my cash and give Mr Kit some planting to do this afternoon. The gardens were fabulous and had been on my list to see for a while as the park gardens were designed by Capability Brown in 1782 and the walled garden by Dutch designer Piet Oudolf in 2003. The walled garden was classic Oudolf with swathes of grasses in amongst the perennial borders (see extra). K had started the day telling me how she didn't like grasses in the garden and finished the day with a selection in her bag for her own garden.

Some disappointing news this evening as we had to take the decision to cancel our plans for an extended family holiday that we had booked with my brother and his family and Dad in Berwick on Tweed in October. With the 'rule of six' in place and potential for further lockdown, we decided to not to risk not being able to go. It's a real shame as it was to celebrate my brother's 60th and a chance for us to take Dad on holiday but hopefully we can rebook for next year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.