We'd been waiting for good midweek weather and today was perfect, so we met on Old Mam Tor Road in the Hope Valley. Our mission was to scramble/climb Elbow and Matterhorn Ridges in Winnatts Pass. We took ropes and some gear just in case, although the guidebook said that it would be difficult to place protection, but once at the bottom we didn't feel we were going to need it.

We moved really carefully because quite a bit of the rock was loose and we didn't want to knock anything down... the road goes right past the base and it was very busy. 

Scary in parts, Elbow has a very narrow section, but what an enjoyable day morning! But then I realised, that in my haste to leave the house this morning I'd left a pan of ratatouille* on the gas. I quickly said goodbye and rushed down the hill to the car! When I arrived home the contents of the pan were charcoal, but the saucepan itself seems to be okay, just a little more charcoal to remove. 

*You might be wondering why I was making ratatouille at 7.30am? Well because I'm going to be away for three days and there was an aubergine that wasn't going to last until friday, courgettes from the garden.... as it was I might just have well have thrown them in the bin! I've got too much on my mind at the moment, well that's my excuse anyway. Thank goodness the damage was no worse.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.