First of Many

... I hope!

The first of the newly planted bulbs to emerge from dormancy in the sand bed is another form of Stenbergia sicula.  This form often sends up flowers just ahead of the leaves.   Once again, it's attracting pollinators and yes, I have raised some from home collected seed in the past but not this one.   The real mark of success will be if this and other bulbs flower again next year.   This one, coming from the Mediterranean region, needs hot summer rest period.   Planted in a raised sand bed in the sunniest spot I have, we'll have to wait and see. 

A not so busy day at Aber Cafe today although the good weather meant we saw quite a few non travelling visitors.   Three more shifts there before I move to a different role ..... thankful that I still have a job in these troubling times.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.