Life in a Northern Town

By kagsy

Heartbroken

I can't get my head around the fact that this is the last photo of Lizzie. 

The first was here, just a few weeks into my Blip journey - she has been an inextricable part of it.

I like the photo, partly because she has her ever present dewdrop, but mostly because her face is free of the pain and bewilderment that has been on it recently. She spent her last day bathed in sunshine, eating large quantities of sausages, cheese and bacon, being cuddled and reminded of our many, many adventures. She drifted peacefully off to sleep with me whispering in her ear what a wonderful friend she had been to me, and how much she has been loved. 

She was a gentle soul and a little light has gone out in my life but I have many things to be grateful for - 7 and a half years of her company, and the chaos of the last 6 months meant more time shared with her - there was always someone in the house to be tricked into giving her some more cheese. 

Lizzie, formerly the racing dog Icandoit, 5 January 2008 - 14 September 2020.

Please give your dogs an extra cuddle from me tonight x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.