Paladian

By Paladian

Always listen to the locals

We had to head off up to Christchurch today, and Rainie and Doug suggested that we take the inland scenic route, through Geraldine, and on up to the big smoke. We were really pleased we took their advice, because, although the weather was pretty ordinary (lots of low cloud) we enjoyed Geraldine very much.

Even though I got accosted by a local, who, on seeing my camera slung round my neck, assumed I was an employee of the Timaru newspaper, and wanted to have a big complain about how Timaru always neglects Geraldine and they never get their money's worth for taxes paid. I'm not sure he believed me when I said I was "only a tourist".

We wound our way through the spectacular Rakaia Gorge, and regretted that we had no time to stop and explore. Never mind, there's always a next time.

Leap into the blue water

We had a wonderful time down in Timaru, marvellous hosts, and a great blipmeet with Katey, Mario, Timguru and of course the amazing Rainie.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.