Trisharooni

By trisharooni

Katoomba Explorers Tree (aka the Black Stump)

I'm surprised this beauty hasn't been blipped already.
You'll notice I haven't done any processing, I wanted you to appreciate it au naturel.

It has become a tourist landmark, as the explorers Blaxland, Lawson and Wentworth are supposed to have carved their initials in it when they crossed the Blue Mountains in 1813.
Although some serious historians have questioned this, tourists have, for many decades, stopped and had their photo taken here.

It is on the Great Western Highway, and was vandalised some time ago, when the local council removed a ditzy little roof, which was like a hat, and wrapped this supposed icon in black plastic.

I don't know how long it's been like this, but it seems like two or three years.
It wouldn't surprise me if, when the plastic is finally removed, the stump is mouldy and putrid.
I'm guessing we'll find out soon, as it's the bicentenary of B, L and W crossing the mountains this very year and it would be very embarrassing for it not to have been restored.

I would like to have taken it from a better angle, so you could better appreciate it, but it's on a curve of highway I wasn't prepared to cross.
You won't be surprised to know that I've not seen any tourists being snapped in front of this:)

If you're interested in seeing this as it was,and maybe reading a bit of the history, go here.
I realise this is a bit of a stretch for non Australians, but if you are a Blue Mountains blipper you should explore and bookmark this fabulous Flickr site of the Blue Mountains Local Studies Library.  
Great old photos, and information.

Feeling a lot better today, so off to do some catch up commenting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.