HClaireB

By HClaireB

Orchid

The orchid on the kitchen window ledge that has been in bud for weeks has just opened its first flower.  I took the photo with the App Camera+ 2 on my iPhone as recommended by the incomparable ChrisJepson.  It will never replace my Canon 100mm f/2.8 L Macro IS USM in my affections, but for £4.99 it's amazing!  The "phartography" (thanks to gen2 for the term) is done in Snapseed.

My Photographic Society had a competition last night.  The subject was "Urban Colours and Shapes".  The judge had clear preferences and opinions.  He didn't like anything that was confused or messy or crowded or busy or distracting.  He liked images that were graphic or symmetric or starkly simple, which is why he gave 20/20 to my "5" (extra).  With many thanks to JodB who found this building and took me there.  It's in the City and the security guards march you off if you produce a camera.  However, it is much more difficult to police iPhones.  This image was also processed in Snapseed.  Afficionados will recognise the Morning Look.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.