The Road to Penyghent

A day of warm sunshine and light winds had been forecast for today from well before the weekend. After the blip yesterday, the sunny weather duly arrived exactly as predicted. It was a day set aside for a long bike ride, although not the ride I'd intended to do. 

I wasn't really feeling it this morning and then I had trouble finding my debit card. After a prolonged search failed to bring about its discovery, I checked to make sure there were no transactions being made on it. Just in case. Almost at the same moment that I found all was good, I got a call from the branch of NatWest in Skipton to say that someone had handed it in there. I've no idea how that came about! I was on such a good run too. I'd not lost anything important in weeks. With no access to cash or the means to pay for anything, the need to be completely self-sufficient reduced my range somewhat - although the boys laughed at my notion of a short ride!

This is the third occasion in recent times when I've lost possession of my card and it's always found its way back to me. People say that they can't believe my luck. I just think that the vast majority of people are honest and helpful and it would be very unlucky if I didn't get it returned. Which is just as well as it's hard to live without one at the moment. I've not used cash since the beginning of March.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.