Paladian

By Paladian

The Foundry

Gosh, I never noticed, I'm a bit behind with Blip.  Never mind I can always back Blip can't I!

Anyway, we went to the Adelaide Brass Foundry today to see if we could get the Old Government House key replicated.  They were willing to give it a try, which is fantastic, because the key we have is the only key in existence.  If that was lost, or a fire came through, the only way to get into the house would be to remove the front door.  Look at the Rower's blip if you want to see what it looks like.

We were talking with the wife of the owner - they came out from Croatia more than 40 years ago.  She was telling me that the craft of casting is dying out, and when they retire there will be no-one to take over.  I found that very sad.  Surely there must be someone interested.  I know it's hard, hot work, but to lose all these ancient crafts really is a tragedy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.