Ellesmere Castle

Well you learn something every day. This is a view I didn't even know existed until today. 

Because I'm a bit of a hill bagger I decided that I would try and get close to the top of Ellesmere's very own hill (182 of 184 in Shropshire by height) which is buried in an old motte and bailey castle. Well I knew there was a bowling green nearby so I headed there, I then noticed a road heading up and at the top to my amazement on the actual top of the hill was a large round bowling green with a cracking view, it's that good it could almost persuade me to play bowls! This is looking out from next to the club house.

I can't believe I have missed it on the maps until now.

A couple of extras of the green itself (unprocessed) and the aeriel view 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.