Snowflakes Under Snow

After yesterday’s heat it was a shock this morning to look out on a white world, though by the time I went out with my camera it was melting fast. It’s not so hot today, but the sunshine is warm.

Yesterday I went to Christchurch to get my hair cut and do my shopping. I didn’t write it up last night because I was too tired. There was a blustery nor’wester, which is warm in the city due to the journey across the Plains and compression against the Port Hills. The temperature rose to 23ºC. I sweltered in my winter jeans and merino top. Coming home in the gale was rough. At each gap in a hedge or plantation the car was shoved sideways. By the time I reached home my right hand was numb from the effort of dragging the steering wheel to keep the car on the road. And then it snowed in the night!

A lot of the remaining flowers have been squashed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.