Where the Light Gets In

By DHThomas

A first

first trumpet lesson
not yet a celestial sound
but a few true notes

A very good first trumpet lesson; I was very happy that I was able to get a sound out at all, I have to say. I can play C, D, E and F, and I know how to play the rest, but to actually play them I’ll have to master the positioning of lips against mouthpiece to change the air pressure in the instrument. The more pressure, the higher pitched the sound.

Sadly I wasn’t able to come home with the trumpet because the paperwork wasn’t ready. Hopefully I can go back at the start of next week, so as to be able to practice before the next lesson! The teacher (his name is Thomas, it should not be too difficult for me to remember) recommended I don’t do more than a few minutes a day, so as not to hurt my lips..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.