Wow.

Look what was parked on Arnside promenade this morning.

Made me wonder whether its owners come from the town of Paisley in Scotland.

When I got back home I decided I wanted to know a little more about this design which is known very widely in the world.
I discovered it is of Indo-Iranian origin and can be traced back over 2,000 years.
It was brought into the West in the 18th. and 19th. Centuries by the British East India Company. It was especially used in the design of expensive Kashmir shawls.

In the early 19th. Century the first place in the world to use the design in mass produced textiles was, yes, you guessed it, the Scottish town of Paisley.

Since then it has been used in the design of all kinds of clothing and in many other articles. The 1960s saw a massive revival of Paisley patterns in western culture and it became very popular in the USA.

And all that comes from seeing a motor caravan at 08.15.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.