Second-time-around

By Skysea7

Kitesurfer

The tourists are STILL here! And reports of the roads tonight say that LOTS of cars are heading into Cornwall.  One holidaymaker from London told his friend he was rushing down here 'before the next lockdown'. Cornwall's infection rate is very low but it has still doubled in just a week - and it had already doubled the week before that!  When the Govt knows that infections are increasing rapidly, why do they announce new restrictions which won;t come into force for 5 - 6 days ahead?  Don;t they realise that doubling and doubling on an almost daily basis is not a good idea?  Once restrictions have been announced surely they should happen IMMEDIATELY?

I went to my nearest favourite beach today.  The weather has been too hot for me but today there was a strong east wind which kept things cool.  It was sunny but the sky appears grey in the photo as I was shooting into the sun.

I had to queue for the car park in the village near the beach.  I have never had to do before that in mid September. So many tourists are still here, and they seem to keep coming week after week. This beach rarely gets big waves but the east wind made them big enough for the kite surfers to come out!  There were about 10 of them.  The waves on the north coast today, shown on the webcams, were quite small.  

There was due to be a very high tide later so I had planned to go back to see some bigger waves. I normally choose low tide to go to the beach so the walk is longer, which is why I went earlier.  But the only road to the beach was totally blocked from late afternoon due to a large fire in an 18th century house close to the road.  So I gave up on that idea!  There have been a few fires recently in St Austell to listed buildings - call me cynical but sometimes the fires make way for developers to use the land where the destroyed listed building used to be!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.