One Perfect Lotus Bloom

About two weeks ago, I spotted the tiny lotus bud on the Arboretum's lily pond, and I got very happy. There have been no lotus blooms on the lily pond yet this year. So it was a very exciting development. I posted pictures; I shouted out the news all over social media.

Time passed. Things happened. Life went on. To tell you the truth, I had forgotten about the bud, until a friend messaged me on Facebook. Had I been to the lily pond lately? Was the lotus in bloom yet?

And so on our next trip to town, I insisted that we stop, and I grabbed my camera and ran straight to the lily pond. My heart leapt when I saw it. Guess what: the bud had turned to bloom!!!

So here's a great big thank you to my friend for the reminder, and to my husband for the ride. For here is one perfect lotus bloom, courtesy of the Arboretum's lily pond: the first, last, and only one for the year!

Here's a song to go with this marvelous lotus: Ed Sheeran, with Perfect.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.