Colourless

It wasn’t a Wednesday that will go down in the history books as wild and earth-shattering, but it was decent. I knocked a few things off the to-do list, attempted to give a work friend some sage career advice, and remembered to wear my mask in office communal areas. I also realised that songs such as St Elmo’s Fire are the dogs b*llocks to listen to when needing to get fired up for a piece of work.

The process of ‘leaving the office’ is extremely satisfying after a few months of the working day dribbling to a close in the house. Office days are bookended more neatly. I cycled back to the house via King’s Parade and there was a distinctly autumnal air. King’s College Chapel and the adjacent horse chestnut looked particularly colourless, which is weird as autumn is supposed to dazzle with its spectrum of colours.

Today marks six months since I arrived in the UK and assumed this limbo status.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.