Pond Olive, Red Admiral And Small Copper

I spotted a tiny fly on one of the kitchen cupboards yesterday and thought it looked like a mini mayfly. It was still there today so I shot it with my macro lens using the in-camera flash. I think it is a type of mayfly, albeit much smaller than the ones with which I am familiar. It's only about 4mm long. I think it might be a pond olive. Unlike the larger mayflies this one can live for up to two weeks, though it can't eat as it doesn't have mouthparts. The female lays eggs which hatch immediately on contact with water.

The ivy was covered in ivy bees again today and a few red admirals visited. I was delighted to have captured a small copper butterfly this afternoon as they have been very few and far between this year on our property. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.