Rowboat

I was almost euphoric this morning when the air had cleared up after yesterday's rain and I was able to go for a good long walk! It's been a few days and I've missed it. I've appreciated where we live because we've had no restrictions preventing us from being outside until the smoke from the wildfires to the south of us affected the air quality. Now I have a much better understanding of how lockdowns affected people elsewhere who were restricted to their homes or to travelling only short distances from their homes. Full of admiration for people who managed to keep their spirits up during those restrictions. I'm not sure I would have been able to do that. 
I liked the little rowboat on the shore. The owner must have been nearby because it wasn't tied to anything.
Such a treat to open windows today too for the first time in a few days and air the house out. I roasted more tomatoes for sauce and soup, and it smells delicious in the house. Very few tomatoes left to pick but lots ripening indoors to keep us going for awhile. The garden is winding down, and I'll be freezing beets and carrots soon and planting garlic at the end of the month. We're so grateful and fortunate to have space to grow some of our food.
Extra: I laughed when I saw a plastic milk crate with the bottom removed nailed to a tree. The basketball player in me thought immediately of a makeshift hoop, but who knows? The stump is right beside the road, not an ideal place to shoot hoops. It wouldn't be an effective backboard either. Very curious if this was nailed up recently or if I've just missed seeing it on the countless times I've walked or driven by.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.