Discovery

Our attic has revealed some interesting new information. I now have my dad's army details - number, platoon, company, rank and two different base locations, one in Wales and the other in the Middle East. I found correspondence to and from him in this satchel which bears a stamped-on date of 1944 and which I think would have been issued to him in preparation for his landing at D-Day +5 that year. It is very slim, designed to go over a shoulder, and has a pocket with clear plastic cover which looks ready made to hold and make visible documents, at the same time. I will come back to the detail in other blips . . . there's a known story about L O'Brien and a mystery about the envelope addressed to my grandparents from India by a JM Crawford, of whom I have never heard but who claims that they are his only relations on his mother's side.The Blackpool envelope contained a note from my father's sister that she and his father had been to a George Formby concert there! Some of you will know that I created a scene in one of my stories of Dad attending such a concert in Haifa, Israel!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.