Skyegirl50

By Skyegirl50

Ruins of Diatomite building

Went back North of Skye again today as the haar yesterday was so thick, couldn't see a thing.

This is the ruins of what is left of the Diatomite building and chimney, the buildings on the other side of the river is what's left of the bothy which was once used for fishing if I remember correctly. (Invertote). The river in the picture is Lealt river and higher up is Lealt falls. I used to take my brother and sister down to the river and the buildings when they were young and played in the river. To go to the bottom is a steep hill which has a path, I wanted to go down but I also know I wouldn't make it back up due to my back pain which is a shame.

You can find online all the information about the Diatomite and the railway which was at Loch Cuithir if interested in reading about it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.