simisue

By simisue

PHOLOS phalangloides: Long Legged Cellar Spider

I have been finding a few of these LONG LEGGED CELLAR SPIDERS in my house recently, & this 1 was kind enough to pose for me.  Then I took him outside.

A few years ago, I was bitten by s spider in bed, but not this kind.
That experience was terrifying because it was painful, & I thought it might be the Brown Recluse Spider, that is very venomous.  I learned they live in Arizona, but not California. Since then, I have been quite vigilant about keeping them out of our bedroom. 

My research about this spider has revealed some interesting facts.  
Spiders in a house are NOT a sign of an unclean house. These spiders are sometimes confused with the "Daddy Long Legs", which is not a spider at all. The Cellar Spider is a European invasive found in Canada, South Africa,
Spain, the United Kingdom & 21 states in the US.  

Spiders like to hang out in dark spaces, especially under the kitchen & bathroom sink because they need the moisture.  This explains why I have seen another kind of spider in our bathroom.  I also found the Cellar Spider under our patio furniture, when I cleaned it recently.  This spider was
just inside the front door.  

To keep them from entering the house, my research recommends spraying 
Eucalyptus, Tea Tree or Peppermint oil around windows & doors.  I have been strategically placing sticky spider traps under our bed.  They seem to gravitate to my husband's side..... 

 
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.