Nearby History

It is Mono Monday with the theme of "Old and New".  I had some ideas, but when my husband suggested the bridges that are located catty-cornered from my house and just across the street, I invited him to come with me and help me find just the right angle.  I wanted the viewer to be able to see at least part of both bridges and to differentiate them.  In a color photo that is not to difficult because the iron color of the old bridge really stands out, but, I wasn't sure about how it would look in mono.  The elements conspired against me, because we are having scattered showers today and they seemed to show up every time I went out with my camera.  On the third trip, I finally got what I wanted!  Did some research with the help of Google and found out that this particular bridge
is considered a Polygonal Warren Pony Truss bridge and was built in 1935.  The concrete bridge beside it was built in the 2000s for vehicular traffic and the 1935 bridge is now used strictly for pedestrian and bicycle traffic  I have loved that old bridge and have blipped it a few times, but I never knew so much about it.....Thanks to GadgetKid for hosting.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.