Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

Banded Tussock Moth

That's what the Seek app says it is, but I don't believe it.  I think it's some kind of bee fly, especially based on its behavior.  It was hovering about 2 feet off the ground for a long time and then dove into the high grass.  Then it popped back out and hovered again.  I was too far away to get a decent shot but I wanted to remember it, so it's my blip today. :-)

I may have lost a little ground yesterday on my wrist/hand recovery.  I wore my brace while I was riding but I think there was still extra strain on it.  Then, I spent the morning vacuuming and dusting and cleaning the kitchen.  Now it's aching again.  I might need another reading day tomorrow. ;-)

The front yard squirrels have figured out how to get to the bird feeders.  I am grateful that the easy solution was applying cooking oil to the pole - and it's very entertaining to see them slide down when they try to climb it!

EDIT:  It's definitely a Bee Fly.  To see a much better shot, check out stillandknow's blip today.  :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.