The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Greenshank At Goldcliff Lagoon

Another photography tick for this one. Okay it was taken from a long way away, but it is still the first half decent shot of a Greenshank I have taken.

Greenshank was another one of those birds that eluded me. They are nowhere as common as Redshanks, but they are usually quite easy to find. I managed to see a few at Freiston Shore last time I was there, but not near enough to photograph.

I was up and off early this morning to meet up with Nigel and my brother down at Newport Wetlands for a proper days birding. The weather was way to gloomy to get any kind of decent photography, and I think I only took about 20 shots whilst I was there, which must be an all time low. I took the scope, which was just as well as I would have come home without seeing and ticking the Snipe on the scrape there. They really are the masters of camouflage!

There were huge numbers of lapwing there, which we had good views from the Salt Marsh Lane hide, which I have never been in before. We were ankle deep in mud most of the time, and it was bitterly cold. We were glad to get back to Uskmouth for a bacon butty and a cup of coffee I can tell you.

We went looking for the Little Owl again after dinner, but it wasn't to be seen again. All in all an excellent day out, and some great company!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.