Rydal Water

Evening swim and picnic at Rydal Water. Possibly the last day of summer, it's been glorious all day but change is in the forecast.

There were 8 of us this evening which  was a problem for the Rule of 6. When we finally found my swimming chums, MrP and I had to make a camp for 2 a suitable distance away.  I swam with Mr P  but he turned back after only 250m and in a wetsuit . These men can't take the cold.   He was happy to do a total of 500m although I told him that's only 20 lengths of a 25m pool.  The good thing about swimming in a lake is that you can't get bored after 20 lengths and get out, if you're nowhere near the shore. I struggle to swim 20 lengths in a pool because I have no willpower and get out bored. In a lake, if you swim for 500m and turn round you have to swim all the way back and can congratulate yourself on swimming 40 lengths.  OK, I only did 30 lengths last night because I felt sorry for Mr P waiting on the shore even though the view of the setting sun was magnificent. Water temperature 16°C
Blip taken during the post swim picnic after I had wiped the water droplets off the lens

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.