Kendall is here

By kendallishere

A breast exhausted

The Pear
by Vinicius de Moraes, trans. Ashley Brown

As if of wax
And by chance
Cold in the dish
Growing late

The pear is a fruit
Burnt offering
To life, like
A breast exhausted

Among bananas
Extraneous
And apples, candid

Ruddy, content
The poor pear:
Who brings it to be?


In An Anthology of Twentieth-Century Brazilian Poetry, Edited, with an Introduction by Elizabeth Bishop and Emanuel Brasil. A gift of Fotodiario.

Another day of pure gratitude. Had my eye exam and my eyes are as good as they were two years ago. With my glasses, I see 20/15. Fabulous. Home with pupils as big as my head, I found a gift in the mail: a book of Brazilian poetry. Now the big-pupil-eyes fill with tears. Thank you, Fernando. Thank you. Also this hilarity from Spoor of the Bookworm.

All the selves we have been: they converge and have a party, a dance. My old cat and I love each moment we have left. A comment from dear friend Giacomo reminded me of this story today: a Buddhist nun on a long pilgrimage slipped on a precipice. She held onto a thin branch for dear life, and at the bottom of the precipice was a ravenous tiger. The branch began to give, and she spotted a wild strawberry and plucked it. As she fell toward the maw of the tiger, she smiled with joy for the taste of the strawberry.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.