AMK49

By AMK49

Granton Harbour

This morning I had a couple of hours to kill in Edinburgh while I waited for Mrs AMK so I decided to take a trip down memory lane and visited Granton  Harbour which is very near where I stayed as a student half a century ago.

I walked along the Eastern Breakwater ( one of the extras) constructed almost 200 years ago with massive blocks of stone from the local quarry and wondered how on earth they managed to build it in these days.

The whole area is very different from what I remember with modern flats constructed and many yachts in the harbour. I used to go down the the Ice Works, closed long ago, and have a cup of tea with the old man who looked after the place who had been a great pal of my dad for many years - he loved showing me how the huge ice blocks were made and I remember he used to come to the farm and help with the harvest when I was very young.

I drove a bit further along to the Gypsy Brae park area with its view of the distant 3 bridges across the Forth and across to Fife - it was a beautiful Autumn day with interesting  cloud formations seen in the other extra.
 
What a delightful way to spend 2 hours outdoors and Covid safe ! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.