I took the opportunity to look at some of the public art in Livingston after dropping S at the hospital for a small operation.  I liked the exuberance and happiness of the figures in this sculpture which was commissioned to commemorate the building of Livingston new town in the 1960s.   Entitled “Community” the artist, Charles Anderson wanted to represent the environment as an ideal location in which to live.       “I wished to create something that I felt would embody the spirit and concept of the new town that could be appreciated by everyone. The idea grew of using a figurative group - the nuclear family - of the community - the parents and youngsters linked by hands - the continuity of generations. I also wished to give feelings of the aspirations, ambitions vigour, joy and energy of a young and growing community. I tried to create this exuberant spirit by the dynamic upward rush of the figures as if engaged in some kind of happy celebratory dance - to create a feeling of life and optimism.

(Thanks to Steveng for today’s Widwed theme "Built Environment (man made)" 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.